The Whig Party was a political party that existed in the United States during the Jackson democracy. The party, integrated into the second party system, served from 1832 to 1856. The party's founding purpose was to go against the policies of President Andrew Jackson and the Democratic Party. In general, Whigler believed in the superior strength of the congress, and that a separate congress section was striving for modernization and economic development. It takes its name from the American Whigs who fought for independence in 1776. Among the members of the Whig Party are Daniel Webster, William Henry Harrison and Henry Clay; Later, Zachary Taylor, Winfield Scott and Abraham Lincoln were also present.