The state of Connecticut ranks 48th in size among the 50 states in the USA, with an area of 12,997 km². It is in the New England region in the northeast of the USA. It is one of the Thirteen Colonies that fought against Britain in the American War of Independence. Major cities in the state of Connecticut: Bridgeport, Hartford (capital), New Haven, West Haven and Waterbury. The population of the region is around 3.3 million.