Bretton Woods is a district of Carroll town in New Hampshire, a small US state. It is famous for the Bretton Woods Agreement, which was signed after the United Nations Money and Finance Conference held here in 1944, and the Bretton Woods system, which emerged with this agreement. The agreement was signed here at the Mount Washington Hotel, established in 1905.